Tuna pate

I love recipes like this, where there are no steps as such to follow, no fiddly procedures. Just collect the ingredients and throw them together and that’s it.

I used to find tuna really smelly, but I seem to have got used to it over time. The tuna I used for this recipe was line-caught tuna packed in olive oil, and it was actually quite mild, considering. I tried a little bit of this pate myself, and I have to say it was not smelly at all. That said, there’s the possibility that I couldn’t smell anything because my sense of smell has been affected by a rather horrible cold that I’ve had the last three days. I do think, however, that this pate is pretty mild-tasting and creamy. Rather nice.

Tuna pate

Tuna pate

Recipe for: Tuna pate

3 oz tuna in olive oil, drained and flaked
1 small onion, chopped
1/4 cup sliced almonds, toasted
1 hard-boiled egg, shelled
2 gherkins
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp Tabasco sauce
1.5 tbsp mayonnaise
1.5 tbsp cream cheese
Chopped parsley to garnish

Method:

1 Combine all ingredients (except garnish) in a mixer or food processer and whizz it for 2 minutes, until the mixture becomes a stiff paste. Taste and adjust the seasoning if required. You can serve this immediately with toast, or chill it for a few hours before serving.

One thought on “Tuna pate

  1. Pingback: Tuna pate | Non-Veg Food, In The Main

Leave a Reply

